Welcome to our Weblog... Opened July 1st 2014


CLICK TO ENLARGE this and other images.
INTERIOR PHOTOS will be replaced soon.
 This weblog was created to provide guests with detailed information about the INN, the AREA and Beaufort HISTORY, as well as unique GUIDES to help guests enjoy their stays in Beaufort and the Front Street Inn. Please SCROLL down for our OVERVIEW, then use the LINKS IN THE SIDEBAR to navigate to pages by category. 
_____________________________________________________

Our 2-story inn is located in a restored 150-year-old Greek Revival residence that sits as a landmark on the Beaufort waterfront, overlooking Taylor's Creek. This was home to the Capt. Thomas Thomas family for over 100 years and is but one of Beaufort's 100s of architectural treasures, many within easy walking distance.
From the south-facing front porches, one can not only enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets, but also wild horses on Town Marsh Island—as boats sail in and out of the harbor.
Beaufort is located just off Beaufort Inlet and its protective barrier islands. It is steps away from the North Carolina Maritime Museum. Within easy walking distance are Beaufort Docks, Beaufort Boardwalk, fine restaurants, unique shops, art galleries and the Beaufort Historic Site. The must-see Old Burying Ground is only a few blocks away.
Visitors will also enjoy touring the barrier islands by boat, while witnessing dolphin, coastal birds and wild horses on Rachel Carson Reserve or nearby Shackelford Banks. Cape Lookout Lighthouse is a short boat ride away. Go shelling on deserted beaches or enjoy a sunset dinner cruise. Kayaking, scuba diving, and deep-sea fishing are also available. 
__________________________________________________

In addition to the south-facing twin porches overlooking Front Street and the Taylor's Creek waterfront, the inn offers another outdoor retreat. Accessed from the upper hallway is a 40’x15’ private balcony canopied by live oaks. This lovely oasis is a wonderful place to relax with a book and a glass of wine or perhaps even gather with other guests before dinner or any other time of day. The attached image of the balcony is an older photo; it will be replaced with an updated photo after the balcony is more fully "furnished" with tables, chairs and outdoor lounges. This photo of the inn's off-street parking (accessed from the Orange Street side of the inn) shows the location of the second-level balcony.
_____________________________________________________

A Brief History of the Town, Inn and Belcher Fuller House


Laid out and named in 1713, Beaufort is North Carolina's 4th oldest town
behind 1705 Bath, 1710 New Bern and 1712 Edenton.

Farnifold Green obtained the first land patent in the Core Sound area, part of which would later become Beaufort. Many years earlier, this land had been fishing and hunting grounds to the Coree Indians. Green continued to live on his plantation north of Neuse River. In July 1713, two years after the beginning of the Tuscarora War, Green transferred his patent to Robert Turner, a merchant from Craven Precinct. A year later Green was killed on this plantation – massacred by Indians.

On October 2, 1713, after obtaining permission from the Lords Proprietors, Robert Turner hired deputy surveyor Richard Graves to lay out a 100-acre town. Turner named the town Beaufort, in honor of his friend Henry Somerset, the 2nd Duke of Beaufort. Streets were named; allotments were provided for a church, a town-house, and a market place. Slow to grow; as late as 1765 it was described as a town of not more than twelve houses.
This old 4" key was recently found 
hidden under the house. 
Click to enlarge.

1½ centuries later, the 1851 Belcher Fuller House was purchased in 1858 by Captain Thomas Thomas, a successful merchant with his own sailing vessels. The Thomas family occupied the home until 1965 – over 100 years.

Beginning in 1986, after being owned by Jean and Copeland Kell for 20 years, together the Belcher Fuller House and the William Borden House were opened as an award-winning bed-and-breakfast inn known as “The Cedars.” The inn complex operated until 2006; both houses were sold separately to new owners who continue to operate them as lodging for visitors.  

MORE HISTORY LINKS are included in the sidebar.